15th European Turbulence Conference 2015
August 25-28th, 2015, Delft, The Netherlands

Invited speakers:

Prof. Marc Brachet. Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris, France

Prof. Peter G. Frick, Institute of Continuous Media Mechanics, Perm, Russia

Prof. Bettina Frohnapfel,  Karlsruher Institut fur Technology, Germany

Prof. Andrea Mazzino, Dipartimento di Fisica, University of Genova, Italy

Prof. Bernhard Mehlig. Department of Physics, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Prof. Lex Smits, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University, USA

Prof. Chao Sun Physics of Fluids, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Prof. Steve Tobias, Applied Mathematics, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

Powered by
© Fyper VOF
Conference Websites

15th European Turbulence Conference 2015


Information booklet available

A lightweight customizable mobile version of the conference program is available on etc15.nl/mobview


Since 1986 the European Turbulence Conference (ETC) is held every other year with usually over 450 participants. The objective of the ETC is to provide a platform for scientists to present and discuss recent advances in the field of turbulence and related topics. The upcoming ETC will be held in Delft from 25-28 August, 2015. 



The principal topics of the ETC vary from fundamental physical issues to applied fluid mechanics. This includes, but is not limited to:

  • wall-bounded and boundary-free turbulent flows
  • pipe flow
  • jets and wakes
  • Taylor-Couette flow
  • atmospheric turbulence
  • geo and astrophysical turbulence
  • 2D turbulence, rotational flows
  • stratified flows, convection
  • wave turbulence
  • non-Newtonian flows
  • compressible flows
  • acoustics
  • MHD
  • turbulent multiphase flows
  • reacting flows
  • scalar transport and mixing
  • intermittency and scaling
  • vortex dynamics and structure formation
  • Lagrangian statistics
  • instability
  • transition and control

Previous Conferences (with invited speakers):

ETC14, Lyon 2013
A. Brandenburg, R Camussi, F. Daviaud, A.V. Johansson, R.  Kerswell, S.P. Malinowski, B.J. McKeon, H. Xu.

ETC13, Warsaw 2011
M. Bourgoin, S. Elghobashi, G. Falkovich, B. Geurts, I. Marusic, J. Schumacher, R. Shaw, L. Skrebek

ETC12, Marburg 2009
N. Kasagi, F. Toschi, A. Celani, K.-Q. Xia, N.A. Adams, S. Fauve, Ian Castro and C.B. Doering

ETC11, Porto 2007
H. Xu, U. Piomelli, G.J.F. van Heijst, R. Piva, R. Friedrich, T. Ogasawara, P.J. Schmid and C. Meneveau

ETC10, Trondheim 2004
Y. Kaneda, N.D. Sandham, Z. Warhaft, C. Cambon, T.S. Lundgren, S.B. Pope, G. Bofetta and D.S. Henningson

ETC9, Southampton 2002
J.-M. Chomaz, J. Kim, A.P. Dowling, L. Biferale, E. Lindborg, T.R. Bewley, B. Eckhardt and N. Peters

ETC8, Barcelona 2000
J.L. Lumley, B. Castaing, F.T.M. Nieuwstadt, P.F. Linden, P. Moin, Jiménez, S. Kida, B. Benzi and P. Huerre

ETC7, Saint­Jean Cap Ferrat 1998
S. Fauve, E.J. Hopfinger, P.A. Monkewitz, L.P. Kadanoff, P.-L. Viollet, H.K. Moffat, K. Gawedzki
and A.M. Yaglom

ETC6, Lausanne 1996
J.-P. Bonnet, M.V. Casey, S. Ciliberto, C.-M Ho and L. van Wijngaarden

ETC5, Siena 1994
R. Adrian, G. Parisi, D. Henningsson, Y. Couder, I.L. Rhyming, B. Dubrulle, J. Hunt and L. Kleiser

ETC4, Delft 1992
W. Eckhaus, A.J. Libchaber, L. Katgerman, F. Durst, M. Lesieur, B. Legras, D.G Dritschel and P. Bradshaw

ETC3, Stockholm 1990
D. Bechert, Y. Gagne, J. Jiménes, M.T. Landahl, C.H. Priddin and G.M. Zaslavsky

ETC2, Berlin 1988
F.H. Busse, P.H. Alfredsson, B.E. Launder, G. Ooms, D.J. Thomson and U. Frisch

ETC1, Lyon 1986
M.P. Berge, U. Schumann, H. Fiedler, J.T. Stuart, H.K. Moffat and P. Perrier